Crocker's Corner of Sturt St and Armstrong St Nth

Reveal the past and the present!

Instructions Drag the line left or right to reveal what this location looked like many decades ago.
  • 1865

    Hall of Commerce established
  • 1876

    Crockers department store established
  • 1914

    Crockers incorporated as public company
  • 1965

    Crockers building demolished
  • 1989

    Crockers moves into smaller premises on Armstrong Street
  • 2011

    Crocker family sells shop and name

Established in 1862, this building was originally the Hall of Commerce. In 1865, it was a hive of retail activity, including a boot and shoe department and an under-clothing and baby-linen department run by "experienced and attentive ladies."

The sign on the wall said it all:


George Crocker came to Australia from England, aged 15 - later serving two one year terms as a Ballarat mayor, in 1912 and 1919. He purchased the Hall of Commerce in 1876, and established what was a classic Victorian era department store, Crocker's, which would operate for the next 130 years

He had ten children with his wife Clara Walsh ; 6 daughters and 4 sons. Two of their sons would die in the First World War.

The shop had an old-world charm with wide counter edged with tape measures and an aerial cash carriage system whereby cash payments were placed in a small canister and sent flying up to the cashier perched in an eyrie near the ceiling.

In later years it moved into a smaller premises next door and remained managed by descendents of the Crocker family until 2011.

Share This

Share your experience at this location using #BallaratRevealed!